The Major Pentatonic Scale

In this course we’ll learn how to play the major penatonic scale through all the keys. The pentatonic is a five notes scale similar to the major scale but without the fourth degree and the seventh degree.

C Major Scale: 

Seven notes from C to B. We can attribute to each note a degree.

C Major Pentatonic Scale:

In C major, the five notes are C, D, E, G and A. Scale degrees 1, 2, 3, 5 and 6 from the C major scale.

We’ll practice the pentatonic scale through two octaves then we’ll approach it starting on each degree of the scale. From the tonic C, the second D, third, E, fifth G and sixth A. We’ll obtain five groups of five notes, for example in C:

  • C, D, E, G, A
  • D, E, G, A, C
  • E, G, A, C, D
  • G, A, C, D, E
  • A, C, D, E, G
+687 enrolled
Open Registration

Course Includes

  • 12 Lessons